Newsletters and Posts

Merrill & Hinckley
This familiar and iconic, three story building with a mansard-style roof was built by Captain Melatiah Kimball Chase in 1880 on Union Street. The street, once known as the “road to Orland”, was once lined...
Wescott Forge
Blacksmiths were the beating heart of early colonial communities, providing the skills to fashion shoes for oxen or horses while mending broken iron tools. As shipbuilding took off as an industry, blacksmiths...
The Pendleton House
The Holt brothers, Jonah and Jeremiah Thorndike, built the Pendleton House in 1826. Originally called the Brick Block, the building was a storefront for the Holts, and it also housed a post office for...